The Division’s mandate of border management and the regulation of entry into and exit from Kenya is carried at designated ports of entry and exit (PoEs).

There are three types of PoEs;

  • Land Border Controls -16 borders
  • Airport Border Controls – 9 borders
  • Seaport (and Lake Pier) Border Controls -10 borders

These PoEs are located along the 4,013 km borderline, along the 536 km Indian Ocean coastline, Airports (inland) and along the Lake Victoria lakeshore.

Kenya borders five countries: The Federal Republic of Somalia for 684km; the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia for 867km; Republic of South Sudan for 317km; Republic of Uganda for 933 km; and the United Republic of Tanzania for 775km.